My reading highlights of 2016

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I’ve been busy working on some writing projects and the good news is my new novel will be out in spring. I’ll write more about that over the coming months.

 

Until then, I’ll leave you with this, my reading highlights of 2016. These are not all books that were published in 2016 (though some were) but books I just happened to read this year. I guess I read about 50 books in total, my average usually is 4 or 5 books a month (depending on their size), but here are the 20 that most impressed.

 

「pile of books」の画像検索結果

 

David Bowie’s Low – Hugo Wilcken

A Manual for Cleaning Women – Lucia Berlin

Undermajordomominor – Patrick Dewitt

Even the Dead – Benjamin Black

At the Existentialist Café – Sarah Bakewell

The Little Red Chairs – Edna O’Brien

The sailor who fell from grace with the sea – Yukio Mishima

How to listen to Jazz – Ted Gioia

New Selected Poems 1988-2013 – Seamus Heaney

The Devil all the Time – Donald Ray Pollock

The Heavenly Table – Donald Ray Pollock

Leaving the Atocha Station – Ben Lerner

The Sick Bag Song – Nick Cave

Here I am – Jonathan Safran Foer

About Beckett: The playwright and the work – John Fletcher

I’ll Sell you a Dog – Juan Pablo Villalobos

An old pub near the angel – James Kelman

Dear Dr. M – Herman Koch

Ingmar Bergman: The Life and Films of the Last Great European Director – Geoffrey McNabb

Nutshell – Ian McEwan

 

my novel of the year goes to…drum roll…

Here I am – Jonathan Safran Foer

「here i am jonathan safran foer」の画像検索結果

 

 

A great read. Maybe over the Xmas holiday season you will have a bit of time on your hands, do yourself a favour and give it a go, it’s big and bold and beautiful.

And for those shopping for Xmas presents (or have yet to read my debut novel!), look no further,  still available here:

http://viewbook.at/killarneyblues

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

